Beneath the Golden Moon
The Laranian Chapel Map Reference
The windows of the chapel were left uncovered and unglazed until 1308
when Yebael of Tolfane, wife of the newly appointed Chabla, put up red
cloth hangings to cover them. No doubt this caused much relief among
those who used the chapel during cold or inclement weather. The cloth
was backed with dyed calico, which could be easily replaced when it
became too weathered, thus protecting the cloth itself from the
elements. Shortly after putting up these drapes, Yebael began working
on decorations in gold thread for them.
The first hanging she completed shows Saint Ambrathas standing ready
with his sword clasped before him, point down. She finished work on
this in 1310, ready for the service given by Faenyn Das, Bishop of
Perinore. Originally it was placed over the southern-most window on
the west wall, but was moved to the middle window in 1315 so that the
newly completed "hovel" tapestry could be placed there, opposite to
the depiction of Dolithor that was finished in 1312.
The view of Dolithor was Yebael's second work.